Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is striking that traveling abroad become more popular among tourists after the pandemic. Some people tend toward the viewpoint that overseas visitors should pay more than the resident population. I totally disagree with this idea.

First of all, cultural and historical attractions mostly depend on state subsidies to keep them going. As a matter of fact, which also means that part of the money belongs to resident population taxes. Above and beyond, overseas sightseers contribute to the economic development of the host country with the money they spend on a diverse range of goods and services, including food, accommodation, travel, souvenirs,... Consequently, the government of every country should invest in and maintain those crucial tourist sites as well as encourage foreigners to visit them.

On the contrary, a growth in the cost of tourism in a certain country will adversely affect the tourism industry in that nation. If travelers realized that they would have to pay more to visit cultural and historical attractions in a particular nation, they would decide not to go to that place again. To take Korea as an example, right in the capital city, visitors can come to see many cultural and historical sites like Bukhansan National Park, Hanok Bukchon Village, Jogyesa Temple,...for free. That is why people tend to prefer Seoul over any other city. If there are no overseas travelers, it will affect the economic growth, in specific, the lack of funds for the maintenance of architectural works.

In conclusion, it seems to me that every effort should be made to attract tourists from overseas. Then again making them pay more than residents is dishonest.