Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what

extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent times, there is a sizeable number of people holding a belief that oversea holidaymakers should be charged more than domestic tourists for visiting cultural and historical spots. In my opinion, I concur with this statement as it is beneficial to certain ways.

On the other hand, surcharge added to the cost of foreigner`s trip to numerous regional destinations could be advantageous for both the country and local residents. First and foremost, an additional payment for visitors brings financial merits due to the fact that there is a plethora of tourists coming from developed countries have abundant budget for travelling so that they are willing to pay extra money. Thus, this will make tourism as well as the country`s economy as a whole to flourish. Secondly, extra fees for foreign visitors also minimise the burden for the protection and preservation of cultural and historical attractions on both indigenous inhabitants and authority.

On the other hand, coercing oversea sightseers to pay more might pose several threats. It is conspicuous that they might regard extra money on them as discrimination and unfair so that more and more foreigners would refuse to come and visit. As a consequent, disparity between the cost for local and foreign visitors could lead to a reduction in the number of foreign visitors each year and have a detrimental impact on tourism and economy.

To summarize, albeit asking oversea tourists to pay more than the local might have its own disadvantage, this is accpectable because of its merits in term of economy and local residents.