Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that unlike the official end of term examination, continuous assessments like tests and research works are not adequate test of student's intellectual proficiency. While this view is best only to the extent that it is done offhand, the other assessment also rate other aspects of student's formation.

To begin with, formal examination is thought to be more beneficial in performance evaluation probably because it subjects the students to showcase their knowledge of the course without the aid of any extraneous material or textbooks. Though this can spur the desire to work hard, there is the probability that some students would forget everything they are taught after passing the examination. However, this can be remedied if the course instructor makes learning more practical for them than theoritical. To illustrate, 75 percent of the lecturers in Cambridge University said they understand students ability better through their response to questions asked in their examination. Flowing from the above, it is not out of place to suggest that formal examination has more benefits in assessing how students perform.

On the flipside, besides the end of term examination, other means of assessment such as tests and research also aid the students to develop some problem solving and workplace skills. The term papers and research works done during the course of the term as continuous assessment provides avenue for an all round formation, which is the main reason for education as the teacher is able to gauge the efficiency of the students understandingas the term is progressing. For example, a survey carried out among students of tertiary institution in Abuja in 2020 disclosed that over half of the students in tertiary institutions gain hands-on experience and skill from field trips and research carried out than by writing examination.

To conclude, in as much as final examination is an important mode of evaluation of students' academic performance, other methods are also valuable and beneficial, thus it is not the only beneficial test of students intellectual ability.