Fossil fuels (e.g. coal, oil and natural gas) are the main resource of energy in many countries. However, in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind power and solar power) is encouraged). To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

Fossil fuels have been used mainly in most countries around the world. However, for many reasons, at present, governments have been investing in developing alternative sources of fuel such as solar, wind and water. In my opinion, this is definitely positive development in these days.

Firstly, we are able to easily recognize the rapid growth of the world's population. In 2011, the world population reached 7 billion and after 8 years, this number is predicted 8 billion. Therefore, there is no argument that humans need a constant amount of fuel in this operation. Meanwhile, fossil fuel source has been took a very long time to form but very quickly will be exploited to provide to the growing demand of humans. Thus, the development of alternative fuel sources, in the long run, becomes more urgent than ever.

Secondly, the exploitation of fossil fuels to supply energy worldwide will cause widespread environmental degradation. For example, burning fuels causes greenhouse gas emissions and air pollutants, leading to many consequences for human health. Meanwhile, the use of solar energy or wind and water has not yet shown results that cause environmental pollution. In addition, in the long time, this source of energy will be provided with cheaper costs because they are renewable, although the initial investment cost can be very high.

In conclusion, with the above-mentioned issues, I believe that the development of alternative fossil fuels is completely positive and an urgent issue for governments around the world. Only by following this approach could a better scenario for the world be ensured