Fossil fuels such as coal, oil and natural gas are the main energy source for many countries. However, some nations are using alternative energy such as solar power, or wind power. To what extent do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that in some parts of the world, while lots of countries are using fossil fuel as their major energy resource, there are some others altering to renewable energy. From my perspective, this trend is definitely an advantageous development.

Using coal, oil and natural gas as the main energy source can result in several problems. Not to mention, the carbon dioxide emissions from vehicle engines or factories directly lower the quality of air condition that takes a toll on people’s health, especially respiratory-related diseases. Furthermore, the burning of fossil fuel also adds to the greenhouse effect. As a result, people may suffer from climate changes such as floods, drought or tsunami faster and faster.

On the other hand, there are numerous benefits when using alternative energy. To commence with, using renewable energy, for example putting solar panels above our houses or building wild farms, neither pollutes the air nor depletes natural resources. In terms of human health, it plays a role in reducing the risks of respiratory disorders. Moreover, such alternative energy is environmentally friendly that keeps our surroundings from deteriorating.

In conclusion, renewable energy usage as major resource rather than fossil fuel can bring several benefits to people on both national and global scale, which I believe is totally a positive development.