Fossil fuels such as coal, oil and natural gas are the main energy source for many countries. However, some nations are using alternative energy such as solar power, or wind power. To what extent do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that in some parts of the world, while lots of countries are using fossil fuel as their major energy resource, there are some others relying on renewable energy. From my perspective, this trend is definitely an advantageous development.

Using coal, oil and natural gas as the main energy source can result in several problems related to people's health and the environment. Not to mention, the carbon dioxide emissions from vehicle engines or factories directly lower the quality of air condition that takes a toll on people’s health, especially respiratory-related diseases. Many researches have shown that, people in large cities such as London or Shanghai, which have high ratio of poor air quality, their admissions to hospital rise sharply. Furthermore, the burning of fossil fuel also adds to the greenhouse effect at a time when international efforts to reduce our carbon footprint must succeed in the effort to fight climate change.

On the other hand, there are numerous benefits when using alternative energy. To commence with, using renewable energy, for example putting solar panels above our houses or building wild farms, neither pollutes the air nor depletes natural resources. In terms of human health, it plays a role in reducing the risks of respiratory disorders. Moreover, such alternative energy is environmentally friendly that keeps our surroundings from deteriorating. It would minimize habitat destruction and tackle the pollution that stems from the activities of the fossil fuel extractive industries.

In conclusion, renewable energy usage as major resource rather than fossil fuel can bring several benefits to either individuals or environment, which I believe is totally a positive development.