Fossil fuels such as coal or oil are main sources of energy in many countries. However, in some countries, the use of renewable source of energy such as solar and wind energy are encouraged. Is it positive or negative?

These days, fossil fuels are the predominant sources of energy in several countries across the world despite having dire repercussions on the wellbeing of the environment. Hence, it is recommended that renewable sources of energy be used to spur environmental harmony. In my opinion, it is an auspicious development as using renewable sources as a major supply of energy could abate the consequences stemming from using fossil fuels.

Firstly, natural energy sources, such as solar, water, and wind, are abundant in nature, whereas the sources of fossil fuels are non-renewable and difficult to replenish once they get exhausted. Moreover, because of their converting process to generate energy, follis fuels emit a hefty amount of CO2 in the atmosphere, which has detrimental impacts on the environment. Secondly, renewable sources of energy are conducive to the environment and have no adverse impacts on maintaining the ecological balance of the environment. In other words, should we radically transform toward using renewable energy instead of fossil fuels, we can negate the risk of mounting global temperature.

Another imperative for preferring renewable energy over fossil fuels is that by using natural energy sources, especially in the major industrial endeavors, companies can be sustainable and achieve economies of scale in the long-run. Because renewable energy entails lower operational costs, it is much more bankable than using fossil fuels. A recent study, for instance, depicted that the RMG sector in Bangladesh benefitted from using solar energy in its daily operation, which has moderated the electricity bills of the companies operating under this sector.

In conclusion, there are a number of other plausible reasons to prefer using renewable sources to meet the demand for our energy needs. It will not only safeguard the world environment but also be a cost-effective solution, especially for developing nations.