Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?

* Having the right to show one’s own attitudes or ideologies freely has been major concern of society for many years. Not only it helps building a solid foundation of fairness and civilization in a society, but it also contributes to the efficiently all-round development of the whole society. Therefore, I am of the opinion that the right of performing each individual’s attitudes in a society should be encouraged widely and reasonably.

There is no denying that the right of showing private attitudes is likely to create an fair and civilized environment for everyone living in a community or a society. In particular, people are always being educated to live and work legally from their childhood and if each individual of them can feel a sense of fairness and legality in their living places, they will firmly respect all regulations and rights imposed by the laws that can lead to a more stable and sustainable society over time. Otherwise, the outbreak of riots and unrest is inevitable because their belief in the legalization system does not be maintained anymore.

More than that, freedom in showing each individual’s own thoughts or ideas may be a driving force for the all-round development of the whole society. The line of reasoning lies in the fact that in all the domains of society, if workers of one corporation or business have the right to perform their extraordinary or uncommon ideas, there is no doubt that those corporations or businesses can discover a new key formula of their success sooner or later. For instance, as being spread widely by story-tellers, the establishment of giant technology corporations like Google or Alibaba comes from small discussions between close friends in their garage at home or in their study room. To add to it, there still exists some advices or observations claimed by powerful businessmen that maybe a booming success is a result of normal ideas or unexpected chats between extraordinary people.

To sum up, I totally agree with the statement that freedom in showing private attitudes or thoughts is very crucial, especially in terms of the overall development of the whole society. If people have the chance to live in such an environment, they should make the best of the right that they have to make their society sustainably stronger.