Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Freedom of expression is the foundation of human right; the value of speech played a immense role in the development of democracy. It allows people to convey what he she like, it given openness to share views etc, the following essay will discuss the value of freedom of speech in modern society.

Freedom brought immense change in the world, in many countries it has brought magnificent improvement in the economy of the country, basically it allows people, media to question the politician over commitments presented during elections rallies, also, such open expressions gives chance to people to cast vote and elect president whom they find fit for the post; for instance, recent riots in the Middle East forced dictatorships to transfer power to the hands of public hold offices than armed man, meanwhile, the continuous struggle lastly compelled governments to step down and state hailed for re-poll. The public voice didn’t go unheard by the world; however, such free speeches brought giant change in the country subsequently new era of democratic system arrived.

On the other hand, sometimes such expression may act as oil in the fire in cases of religious outrage or national security, for this reason freedom of speech followed by laws and rule. In United States the people of fully free to say what he/she likes to express, however, people aren’t allow to hurt any belief or discuss openly national security issues in the public.

In conclusion, free expression is the matter of basic right of the individual and it is obligatory for open society, it helps to promote democratic system.