Freshwater has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

It is true that many nations are facing a freshwater shortage which is one of their top concerns nowadays. This brings several problems and governments and individuals should be attached by some effective solutions.

There are some primary reasons why water scarcity is so serious. Firstly many industrial companies still do not focus on upgrading their sewage system, which leads to polluting the water sources by many chemical reactions, cleaning toxic,. . .Moreover, many farmers rely on chemical fertilizers causing contamination of the groundwater. In addition, some people have less awareness of water shortages. For example, many people are still throwing the trash into their lake or river which makes the water sources polluted badly.

Luckily, governments and individuals should take steps immediately to solve this issue. First, governments enact laws to deter wasting water such as increasing the water bills in order to encourage people to use water wisely. Likewise, using drip irrigation systems in agriculture can reduce a huge amount of water. Factories should improve their waste proposals which are one of the keys to saving freshwater. People play an important role in this phenomenon, they can teach their kids how to use freshwater effectively which improves awareness of the water shortage problem.

In conclusion, lack of fresh water is a huge threat to many parts of the world with many negative impacts on people's life. To solve the growing problem, both governments and individuals need to cooperate with each other to find the key to this problem