In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the near future, automated driving technology would appear in all vehicles, and human drivers would be redundant. Personally, this wind of change could offer multiple merits and overcome its disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are some concrete benefits of using this cutting-edge technology. Firstly, automated vehicles could help effectively prevent accidents. AVs programmed with sophisticated software and hardware could eliminate human errors. Major culprits of accidents such as drunk, speeding or distracted driving would become a thing of the past. Therefore, it could eradicate accidents, making roads a safer place. Secondly, AVs could increase traffic efficiency. With the help of AI (Artificial Intelligence), vehicles could communicate with each other in real-time. Cars are able to travel more efficiently and calculate the optimal route to take and avoid bumper-to-bumper traffic. Furthermore, most self-driving cars are more eco-friendly by shifting from fossil fuel to electrical energy, therefore, decreasing the emissions released to the atmosphere and contributing to a green-growth development society.

On the other hand, society might cast doubt on the efficiency and safety of this novel tendency. However, technology is innovating and renewing day by day. Such remaining issues, flaws and worries could be addressed eventually in the near future. Looking at the reality, Tesla is showing unarguable advantages compared to other rival manufacturers in the race of prevailing the market share of the American automobile industry, proving the superiority of driverless vehicles.

To recapitulate, even though the self-driving mechanism is still at the initial stages, I hold a firm belief that the virtual-drivers era is inevitable, requiring the acclimatization of each individual.