In the future all cars buses and trucks will be driverless The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passangers Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages

It is projected that in the near future, driverless transportation is going to fully replace the traveling mode today. While from my perspective, there are more disadvantages than advantages when commuting with a driverless vehicle.

There is no denying the fact that driverlessness is a marvelous invention and brings benefits to human beings. For instance, as figures reveal, drive-killing has been the most significant reason for individuals’ death. The toll mainly results from the lack of attention to roads. Thus, driverless transportation does assist, as people need not drive with full preoccupation anymore. Provided that the driverless cars were put into daily use, they would surly mitigate the driving fatigue and decrease the accidents of driving after drug or alcohol.

While there may be some advantages of driverlessness, the disadvantages should be taken into consideration seriously. For one thing, as is universally acknowledged that, no matter how clever the artificial intelligence is, it could not tackle ethical dilemmas properly. Take the classical trolley problem as an example. The hypothesis is that when someone is driving, he figures out if he continues to drive straightforwardly, five people will be hit. While if he chooses to swerve, another man will be stroke. When driverless vehicles encounter such urgent situations and either way they choose is unable to reach good results, it is hard for the authority and public to decide who or what should be blamed. Not only the blankness of liability will lose residents’ faith in government, but also it is detrimental for the harmony of the society. For another, the security issue deserves much awareness too. As the leak of private data occurs more and more common nowadays, it has become a prevalent concern that once hackers attack the manipulation system of driverless vehicles successfully, the safety of passengers could be threatened.

In conclusion, although advantages of driverlessness are addictive, the underlying unacceptable ptable disadvantages outweigh the advantages clearly.