In the future, all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is envisaged that autonomous vehicles will replace human drivers in the future. I think that the benefits of the advance outweigh their drawbacks as they provide convenience for senior individuals and the disabled, and they also diminish human errors.

On the one hand, the development brings about some downsides. The first one is that many drivers will lose their jobs. Once this practice gains in popularity, many drivers will find their work obsolete and have to seek alternative sources of income; however, this problem can be tackled by investments in other employment markets or government assistance to help former drivers find other jobs. Another unfavourable aspect of this trend is private security. In order to function appropriately, the personal data of clients need collecting, which may lead to potential issues related to identity theft. When hackers successfully steal one’s private information, customers will probably face several threats, such as blackmail and emotional distress.

On the other hand, despite the mentioned negative impacts, the frequency of occurrence is relatively low and can be addressed; the positive sides of applying automated vehicles are more prominent to see. Firstly, the elderly and the disabled can benefit from this form of transit. All driverless cars are programmed to operate accurately thanks to their computer software and clever algorithms. Therefore, the old and handicapped people, who are mostly dependent on others and do not have the ability to self-travel, are able to commute on the road with a few clicks on the computer screen. Secondly, self-driving vehicles have the ability to eradicate human errors. Human beings, who are fallible and potentially dangerous, are prone to severe road accidents due to subjective factors, including speeding and drowsiness. Automated cars are able to detect obstacles and predict unexpected situations, thereby reducing traffic incidents.

In conclusion, although self-driving vehicles can cause some downsides, I believe these undesirable repercussions are eclipsed by their merits, which are providing convenience for the elderly and the disabled and eradicating fatal human flaws.