Some people feel that entertainers such as film stars and pop musicians or sport stars are paid too much money.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which other types of jobs should be highly paid?

It is argued that people working in the entertainment industry, such as movie stars, music composers and sports stars, are being overpaid. I totally agree with this view, and I think that there are other types of jobs that are worthy of higher salaries.

There are two rationales for my opinion. To begin with, the money that entertainers receive is in contrast to the amount of work they do. They can easily earn a lot of money with a single job for a short period of time, while the vast majority of people have to work all year round to get the same amount or even significantly less than that. For example, a famous singer in Vietnam can get a great wealth up to a billion VND with a couple of songs. In addition, when it comes to social values, entertainers, in comparison with educators and healthcare workers, are less significant. This is because their work does not reflect the meaningful contribution to the whole community.

Therefore, I believe that teachers and healthcare employees deserve a larger wage. Educators are those working directly with students, the future labour force of a nation. They bear the responsibility of discovering and developing potential skills of learners, which helps them identify their career goals in later life. It is reasonable to say that teachers partly contribute to the upcoming development of a country. Moreover, doctors and nurses have proven their importance when the world has been facing new diseases. They deserve to gain recognition and higher incomes as they have saved millions of lives from fatal illnesses such as COVID-19. The pandemic is a particular example when the whole medical system had to work constantly to bring patients back to their lives.

In conclusion, I fully agree with the view that individuals in the entertainment industry are being paid too much. There are other types of jobs that need to get higher salaries, such as teachers and healthcare workers due to their great contributions to society.