Some believe that the best decision is to allocate more money to research about life on other planets, since the Earth will get too spoiled for the next generation to live on. I personally totally disagree with this notion and think that the money is better to be spent on the Earth itself, rather than taking the risk of moving to another planet.

On the one hand, Earth is becoming more densely populated day by day and the natural resources are limited. Thus people’s share of these resources will decline by overpopulation. In addition, the environmental degradation caused by previous generations is compounded and needs great effort to become resolved. Despite this, investing on other planets is not a reasonable solution, population control and environmental conservation are seemingly more feasible to be put into practice. Since by spending the same money on these two acts, rather than searching for a new home, more beneficial results would be reached.

On the other hand, moving to another planet is not only expensive, but also risky, and not as effective as expected. The appearance of the human race on the Earth, is evidence of the alignment of its features with the needs of the human body. Therefore, replacing the Earth with other planets, although studied thoroughly by researchers, may cause some harm to the human generation, as some factors might not be discussed by scholars. Besides, even if there would be no threats on the new planets, the human is the biggest threat itself. Because if we could not save our own planet, who guarantees we will not spoil the new one?!

To sum up, from my personal standpoint, the idea of increasing funds on the research for life on other planet is not acceptable, since despite its risk, it does not prevent the population from damaging the new planet. Thus, investigation of this money on population control and environmental conservation acts, would be much more effective.