In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s modern world, it is believed that printed newspapers as well as written books will soon lose their position due to the proliferation of the Internet in which people can get access to everything freely. From my point of view, however, I am of the opinion that books and newspapers will never be superseded for their pivotal roles.

The first thing to notice is that the printed newspapers are a more reliable and official source of a myriad of information, which can never be copied by the Internet. To print and publish the issues, the papers need several checking, combining and sorting out the news, which can provide higher accuracy in the knowledge. Take Tien Phong magazine or New York Times as an example, readers can always put trust on them without doubting the rumours or the truth behind the news. Moreover, with the governmental subsidy, numerous newspaper towns can invest in the knowledge and serve the best quality of the information, unlike the Internet with a barrage of unreliable contents.

Another thing worth considering is that no matter how many e-books a person can have freely, they will never undergo the satisfaction and the sense of being the first to the exclusive story of the authors as when they hold a tangible book. If the readers keep gluing their eyes to the phone screen, computer screen and the like for reading, their feeling of content and the pleasure of getting to every page can be curtailed and taken away. As a result, the incentives for reading disappear and there will be no joy in this valuable activity. Nevertheless, readers may have to prolong the time waiting for the book to be published online as not every author posts their outcome on the Internet, not to say some even charge it with the e-readers.

In conclusion, although the ubiquitous use of the Internet has underpinned people’s getting access to different sources to a greater or lesser extent, I am convinced that books and printed newspapers will never have to relinquish their place as they provide better experience with reading and acknowledging, more reliable news and manifold ways of reading.