Scientist research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, manifold scientific research has drawn great attention from both the public as well as the government. While some advocate that those tests and examinations should be conducted by private corporations, others believe that it should be the responsibility of the state to control those. From my point of view, although the former idea is, to some extent, justifiable, I am of the opinion that the government should carry out scientific research.

Admittedly, having companies investing in scientific research can reduce the financial burden from the state budget. As the governments have a myriad of problems to deal with, ranging from the healthcare system to the matter of the sovereignty of the country and the like, they may not have enough financial backup to cater to scientific tests. By contrast, corporations only need to focus on the research, not to mention the fact that they gain great revenues from their business. As a result, they are financially capable of carrying out those research with stronger support.

However, there are numerous reasons why I believe the power and control of the government over scientific research is more ideal. The first thing to notice is that private corporations may manipulate the results of the research to gain more revenues. For example, some rice enterprises in Vietnam blinded consumers’ eyes about their artificially-created minerals in their produce, which was erroneous, in a bid to maximize their profits. Moreover, only when the government is responsible for scientific research can they prioritize what is necessary and vital to the development of the nation. They can focus solely on the project that is worth allocating fundings to and can foster the nation without being tempted to break into the market or gain a competitive edge. Accordingly, the country and people can take full use of those research.

In conclusion, while there are certain benefits of letting private corporations have control over scientific research, I reckon it is more plausible for the government to carry out those tests as the study can be scrutinized more appropriately by its main goal as well as the nation can merit more beneficial examinations.