In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Traditional articles and novels are predicted not to be bought by anyone in the next few years because the Internet will provide them with free documents that they want to read. In my opinion, I somewhat agree that people will be able to access a large amount of information online because of the advancement of information-providing platforms and social media. However, I also believe that there will be some copyright policies preventing people from reading for free.

The first reason why I think that people in the future will not pay for printed newspapers and books anymore is the increasing appearance of numerous websites and applications that provide free information. In Vietnam, for example, there have been lots of these types of websites that help people access the latest news. Therefore, it is comprehensible that people can easily read everything they like in the future.

Another reason is that the development of social networks allows people to share everything with others quickly. In other words, there have been several groups and forums where people can share their e-books with others. Consequently, people will tend to exchange their books with others instead of buying them from a bookstore.

Nevertheless, as society has been improving, I consider that government will impose more copyright laws to protect the author’s possessions. That means that some illegal forums where people share their free books will be prohibited. Thus, people will not be able to read anything they want on the Internet for free.

In conclusion, before these laws are introduced, I believe that traditional books and newspapers will be replaced by complimentary documents on the Internet, owing to the development of apps and social media.