It is predicted that people will no longer buy printed newspapers or books since they will be able to read everything they want online without any costs. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea and this essay will give the reasons.

On the one hand, it is unlikely that printed-based books and magazines would be replaced by online reading in the future. To commence with, traditional reading could be less disturbing. In other words, within printed books, readers could grip in them for hours without being interrupted. Take Vietnamnet.com as an example, irrespective of being a well-known daily news website, it still contains plenty of pop-up advertisements that censor the main content. Thus, paper-based reading would still be preferred in the long run due to its disturbing-free. The second reason is related to health issues. To explain, unlike web-based reading, which requires people to stare at the electric screen, printed books and newspapers are much more optical-friendly. According to a survey from Australianknowledge.com, 60% of online-based readers have complained that their eyes were strained and dried after reading. Meanwhile, traditional readers claim that their eyes are “healthy”. Therefore, hard copy books could still be circulated in the future as they limit damaged health exposure for readers.

On the other hand, web-based reading might not always be freely accessed. To illustrate, although the Internet provides people with a wide range of reading choices, not all of them are charge-free. For example, Goodreads.com, which is a reliable website for readers’ communities around the world, only allows premium users to fully access their service permanently. Consequently, people may not be assured to read online without fees. Moreover, it is unlikely that people could read everything on the Internet. For example, most authors might disapprove of their books being online accessible for concern about copyrights. As a result, online readers may not be provided with a full source of information.

To conclude, the chances that printed material will be replaced by online reading in the future is questionable. As each reading type has its downsides and bright sides, it would be better if they could jointly exist to provide readers with a variety of choices.