While many people say that students should only be required to learn about science and technology, others (including me) agree that they should be given the right to choose their favorite subjects.

On the one hand, it is undoubted that science-related subjects could positively change the future. To commence with, these compulsory subjects play a crucial role in the invention of cutting-edge technology. In other words, having gained a sufficient amount of scientific knowledge, collegians might be able to put them into practice. For example, at Hanoi University of Science and Technology, students have successfully invented the machine called “COVID-19 detector”, which can be highly effective in identifying people who are infected with the Coronaviruses in the community. Eventually, this state-of-the-art invention has contributed significantly to the struggle with COVID-19 of Vietnam. In addition, making science-related subjects obligatory in the university curriculum might also enhance learners’ job prospects. To illustrate this, within such prestigious qualifications of technology fields, the likelihood that students are recruited by prosperous businesses could considerably increase. For instance, such giants in the aspect of technology as Apple and Google strictly require their applicants to have good background knowledge of hi-tech to ensure the productivity of the whole corporation. Thereby, the variety of job opportunities that learning science and technology might bring for students is undeniably optimistic.

On the other hand, the idea of allowing students to choose their favored subjects, which I strongly side with, is also worth considering. To begin with, it would reduce a great amount of pressure placed on learners. To be more specific, as students can choose subjects based on personal preference, they would be more engaged in the whole learning process. As a result, rather than being dull, learning at university might appear attractive to students. Moreover, offering collegians a chance to attend their most-liked classes could improve students’ scholastic achievements. In terms of explanation, given that there is no obligation to learning, university attendees could invest more time and concentration on their specialization ones. This might promote students’ independence in learning, as well as their academic performances in the long run.

To conclude, while there have been large agreement on the compulsory of scientific and technological subjects, I strongly believe that students should be given the right to learn what they are keen on since it could raise their learning enthusiasm and academic results.