It is said that examination results only really suit people who are good at taking exams. I agree with this statement and I will recommend other various methods to assess a student’s abilities.

The first culprit behind failures in standardized tests is that people might have pop-up mental issues when being under pressure. To be more specific, they may have the feeling of anxiety whenever sitting for an exam despite their overall academic performance being excellent. According to a report in Viet Nam, a large number of IELTS candidates, who are evaluated as good learners, can not do well in the test due to a great tension of the examination. Thus, conventional tests might not be able to give the most precise reflection of a student’s level. Another reason that contributes significantly to the unsatisfactory performance in written exams of students is external factors. In other words, since the atmosphere and environment could be unavoidable distractions, they may affect a student’s performance greatly. Take the sounds and temperature of the room as an example, they could sometimes be unsuitable for test-takers that eventually direct their attention away from their tests. Consequently, their final result might not be true to their real abilities.

However, there are plenty of optimal judging methods that could be reasonable for most learners. First, using portfolios might be a one-sizes-for-all solution. To explain, portfolios are also known as a collection of documents that evaluates a student’s works throughout their courses. For example, HUST University in Viet Nam has made measuring students’ progress with portfolios compulsory for years. Thanks to this, not only the pressure of final tests can be reduced but also the assessment for learners could be more accurate. In addition, using presentations to test students is also an effective way. When it comes to presentations, students must utilize their teamwork skills, understanding, and constructive attitude. Compared to standardized tests, the result of this judging method can be more practical and reasonable.

To summarize, I agree that formal examinations are not suitable for everyone as a result of individual mental issues and external factors. However, instead of using conventional tests, I suggest that portfolios and presentations should be considered as means of reflecting students’ levels.