In the future, students may have a choice of studying at home by using technology such as computers or television or studying at traditional schools. Which would you prefer? Use reasons and specific details to explain your choice.

Nowadays the newest scientific achievements have impacted all aspects of our life including educational methods. As result, sooner or later traditional school education may compete with the education given at home by using such modern technologies as computers and television. If I could have a chance to make a choice between these two methods for my children I would prefer a traditional one for a number of reasons.

To begin with, technologies cannot completely replace traditional school methods because always an effective educational process requires a live teachers’ feedback. Teachers and pupils must see each other, properly perceive each other’s body language, and have ability to listen and express their own ideas. These are all necessary attributes of an effective study process. No one can deny that even most sophisticated videoconference tool cannot fully replace live talk.

Moreover, students, having home education through technological means, may face serious challenges in their future career development. Even if it had been possible to organize a study process using modern technologies, it would have been impossible to follow this method with work matters. It is a mater of fact, that almost all types of work links with daily communications, conversations, negotiations, and networking. A person who wants to succeed must have these skills, which easily can be gained in traditional school.

Finally, completely replacing traditional schools may affect our society’s values. Over the centuries humankind has co-existed together. And a traditional school is the first step for schoolchildren to associate themselves with their own community and people around. This is not only formal system to gain knowledge and skills, but also way to learn about mutual rights and responsibilities within a society. Children pick up these values indirectly only in traditional school.

To summarize, the new IT technologies are rapidly being introduced in all spheres of our life. And there is a chance that one day technologies may replace traditional schools allowing children to study at home. However, these innovations unlikely can replace traditional methods because they lack live feedback, may affect future development of students, and may negatively impact traditional values in our society.