The gap between the rich and the poor is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

It is true that the growing disparity between the wealthy and the poor has become one of our major concerns in this era of ever-evolving development in most fields. This undoubtedly might result in several problems that require prompt solutions to be implemented.

To begin with, increasing levels of poverty resulting from the expanding gap between different social classes may promote the rise of crimes. While the upper class continues getting richer, their counterparts desperately struggle with the meager income they earn, which is unable to provide them with even the most basic demands. At the same time, that the labor market has become more competitive than ever makes it more challenging for impoverished individuals to land a job to get by. This forces them to unwillingly commit crimes, namely robbery, in order to survive, thereby boosting the number of crime’s incidents which might threaten a nation’s security. Besides, rising wealth disparity may lead to social inequality. To clarify, those who are born into such an affluent family will be offered more opportunities to access better education, which prepares them with essential weapons for the turbulent upcoming future. Meanwhile, that would be far from reach of the lower class due to the income inequality.

With a view to narrowing down this social gap, it is firstly the government’s responsibility to allocate more budget spending on education. More scholarships can be given to those growing up in a poor family to encourage them on their learning paths. Furthermore, schools, especially in remote areas, should be well-equipped to ensure everyone has equal access to education. Only by widening education to all walks of life can the authorities help people to gain the chance of turning pages for their lives. Last but not least, more job opportunities should be created to answer the quest of most underemployed individuals living in severe poverty these days.

To recapitulate, I believe that education can serve as the key tool to weave the gap between the rich and the poor sectors which have caused a plethora of issues for the present time.