Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most people now find the idea of attending college to better their education to be enticing. Although obtaining a higher education is advantageous, there is now a growing issue that our society is in desperate need of skilled personnel like electricians and plumbers. In light of this, I believe that more people should be encouraged to participate in vocational training for the reasons listed below.

Firstly, encouraging more people to pursue a profession in a certain field could help alleviate some of our worries about graduate unemployment. Due to fierce job competition, there would be fewer employment options available for everyone given the high number of persons enrolling in institutions for academic study. Therefore, this may lead to a higher unemployment rate, which may then become the root of many societal problems. However, this seems not to be the case once more people choose a vocational career. By doing this, society as a whole would be relieved from the heavy burden of unemployment, giving people greater opportunities to choose their careers. When it comes to building construction or site upkeep, jobs like electricians and other trades are also essential. In many countries, a permanent maintenance staff or skilled tradesmen is employed in hospitals, schools or museums, ensuring the safety of all who use the buildings.

More vocational training should be offered to meet demand for the two aforementioned reasons. To ensure that students are well-prepared with the primary skills needed for some emergent scenarios, such as a fire, schools should incorporate more practical teachings into their curricula in addition to teaching students about abstract theories. Parents must also encourage their kids to think about acquiring a skilled trade as a viable alternative to attending college in order to assist them plan their future careers.

To sum up, while pursuing higher education at a university is undoubtedly useful, it is also necessary to encourage people to pursue vocational training in order to keep the balance in our society.