People in the community can buy cheaper products nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present time, it is true that people can easily possess a product at such a pretty low cost. While this seemingly might have some benefits for individuals to reap, I believe that there also lies potential downsides needed considering.

On the one hand, customers can greatly benefit from the decrease in price of most products these days. To begin with, cheaper goods can help people’s living standards to turn for the better. Looking back a few years ago, the money needed to purchase an item such as a vacuum, used to be much higher than that at the present, which prevented many shoppers from obtaining it. Nevertheless, that is not the case anymore, individuals now can buy most products necessary at their demands. Additionally, lower-price goods at the same time intrigue more consumption, which means the national economy can also be boosted as a consequence.

On the other hand, buyers’ ability to obtain products at a lower price might underlie several unwanted drawbacks. Firstly, the decrease in price might mean the degradation in quality of an item. This accordingly urges people to buy more and more goods as a way to replace the one which has been worn out. What is more, conspicuous consumption, as a result of cheaper production, has taken a toll on the environment. Take fast fashion as an example. Lots of clothes are mass produced to meet individuals’ needs, which generates tons of trash detrimental to the surroundings.

In conclusion, although inexpensive items offer customers more choices of products, this may result in more demerits than merits.