Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes?

International tourism is widely believed to be a factor negatively affecting a country due to a number of reasons. However, tourism still has a pivotal role to play in people’s life, thus solutions are needed to be found out in order to avoid unwanted implications. This following essay is going to go over both of these two issues.

In terms of the roots for individuals’ discontentment with international tourism, it can be firstly put down to environmental pollution. Undoubtedly, when a large number of visitors flock to an area for their holiday, they might then leave such a great amount of litter and trash in that place, which can adversely contaminate the surroundings there. As a consequence, the landscapes of a country may have to bear a huge pressure of being spoiled. Moreover, foreigners coming to a nation can also bring with them their own cultures and ways of living, which might not be always appropriate to the territory they are visiting. For example, a few months ago, a foreign woman coming to Vietnam wore a sexual clothes when entering a pagoda. This is far beyond Vietnamese culture’s perspectives and therefore has sparked anger in most native people.

In order to prevent those setbacks, various solutions should be carried out. To begin with, governments should enforce more stringent regulations on the tourism industry, ensuring that everyone takes responsibility for their actions. Otherwise, mass tourism may continue to behave out of order, thereby badly affecting the image of a country itself. In addition, every holiday-makers should spare some time to explore other nations’ traditions, so that not only can they gain a better understanding of the lifestyle there but also avoid embarrassing themselves.

To conclude, it seems to me that international tourism can be changed positively once all those concerns above are addressed by prompt actions.