Some believe that it is good for a country’s culture to import films and TV programmes, while others think it is better for a country to have their own films and TV programmes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether movies and television programmes should be imported from overseas or rather produced locally. While foreign films can bring people some benefits, I also advocate that the national film industry should be encouraged to release its own pieces for reasons discussed as follows.

On the one hand, movies and TV programmes imported from other countries can do good to a nation itself. Firstly, they might serve as an effective means by which individuals can learn about exotic cultures. Take Aladin for example. Not only is it used for entertainment purposes but this movie also helps children to find out about Arabian’s lifestyle, thereby broadening their knowledge about other cultures around the world. Besides that, importing foreign films and programmes seems to gain more popularity owing to people’s rising demands for recreational activities in this era of integration. Therefore, in order to cater for all tastes, movies and TV broadcasts might be imported outside one’s own territory.

On the other hand, it is of great advantage for people to produce their own local films and other TV shows. This is able to educate individuals about their own national values through numerous moving motions, to commence with. To exemplify, Hao Khi Anh Hung, which is a well-known cartoon produced by Vietnamese creators, has succeeded in lighting the interest in children as well as older people for the long-standing history. That is to say, films which are locally produced and include cultural contents might strongly promote national pride in every individual. In addition, if the national film industry develops, more job opportunities will appear as a consequence. This means a country can be relieved from several pressures namely unemployment and poverty.

In conclusion, I concur that both locally produced films and TV programmes together with imported ones can greatly contribute to not only a nation’s well-being but also its cultural diversity.