Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is claimed that social issues and poverty are attributable to crime, while others state that innate characteristics are the overriding factor. While negative nature can sometimes turn a person into a criminal, I believe social problems are certainly the primary cause of crime.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people hold the belief that a person’s innate characteristics determine whether or not that person will grow into a criminal. First, an aggressive child is more likely to turn to a career of crime than a well-mannered one. For instance, a child bullying his or her classmate has a tendency to commit illegal activities in the future. Second, undesired traits such as laziness and selfishness could breed would-be criminals who are willing to take a shortcut to earn money. For instance, there have been a number of tragic murders committed by game addicts who choose to steal from others instead of making an honest living.

On the other hand, I believe that social issues and poverty are the main determinants of crime. First, unemployment is one of the most perennial problems of crime. Without any means of living, many people resort to crime, either minor or major ones, as a means of meeting their basic needs. This explains why some undeveloped parts of the world, such as Rio De Janeiro in Brazil, witnessed an escalating rate of crime in recent years. Poverty could also be to blame for a rise in crime. If people struggle to make ends meet, they could be pushed to break the law in an attempt to support themselves and families.

In conclusion, although both perspectives certainly have some validity, I hold the belief that social issues and property are the primary motives behind crime.