Some people say that what children watch on TV influences their behavior while others say the amount of time children spend watching Tv influences their behavior.

There is an argument on both sides of the question of children watching TV. While some people hold that children are most affected by what they watch on TV, the opponents rather put the blame on the amount of time to be the major factor influencing kids. In my perspective, I opine that both these two opinions have their own reasons to be based on.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that the contents children are exposed to can play a pivotal role in orienting their doings. In such an age of ever-growing infotechnology, children have unlimited access to the wealth of information which varies from education to entertainment. This offers them a chance to enrich their knowledge through helpful educational programs, but might, at the same time, intimate improper behaviors in youngsters by watching unsuitable content involving drug abuse or severe violence. Content like these can easily have a strong impact first on children’s mindset, then their actions as they are still impressionable and unaware of those wrong doings. As a matter of fact, many reports have shown that there are cases of children who have been caught in the act of carrying out violence just to imitate their favorite characters in movies. Besides, other sources of information which also divert kids’ doings are commercial advertisements such as junk food. They intrigue youngsters’ interest by showing tempting images of their products, which then urges children to pester parents to buy no matter what it is harmful or not.

However, content is not the only factor attributed to a child’s behaviors. Another one is the amount of time children spend watching TV. If they watch TV during a sensible period, they can reap enormous benefits from getting into that activity. Otherwise, too much time watching television might result in several unwanted outcomes. Firstly, children riveting on the screen for hours after hours are more likely to become addicted to the TV. This then might gradually isolate children themselves from the outside world and erode their fundamental social skills such as communicating. Furthermore, constantly watching TV may push a child into a sedentary lifestyle. As a consequence, youngsters might avoid participating in outdoor activities, which are supposed to boost their well-being, just to sit in front of a TV watching.

In conclusion, I concur that both improper content and the amount of time watching TV can have an influence on the young. In order to prevent adverse impacts, children should be more controlled when watching television.