Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Genetic engineering issue is the most noticeable nowadays this has been discussed a lot of in media because they believe this way leads to improve their life. However, others would argue that this might endanger human life. This essay will argue that although this technology has numerous benefits if this did not do in carefully research, it will give a negative impact.

Improving the qualities of human life by modifying human DNA is one of the ways to decrease chronic diseases. Some of the scientists with their research believe that they can detect diseases earlier, even before a baby is born by analyzing the gene as soon as possible. As a result, all of the children will be born with a healthy body. Research conducted by Oxford University shows that with genetic engineering 60% of diseases of children before they were born can be detected and also solved. However, because the diseases of them cannot be solved at all, some parents prefer to do abortions, and this will decline the number of the human population.

Most importantly, people also should be concerted in the negative impact of this technology because it offers benefits that will usually come along with risk. In fact, when it comes to testing on the gene, the most important matter, which is even above the possibility, is safety because the main reason for this technology was created to helping people. As a result, the failure of genetic engineering leads to increased mortality. For instance, in China 50% fatality at birth children because of manipulating the gene. Moreover, before doing this way people should consider it well.

In conclusion, although manipulating the gene can decrease the chronic disease, this also leads to new problems such as fatality at birth. If it is possible, some rules about modifying human DNA must be applied.