Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, genetic engineering is one of the most crucial problems in the world. It is considered by many people that the process of modification of DNA harmfully impacts on the ecosystem and may be used for malevolent purposes. Nevertheless, I sincerely believe that by using genetically modified products humanity will have an opportunity to develop science and medicine.

On the one hand, the process of genetic engineering is hazardous for ecosystem. Today, it has a variety of types of genetically modified animals and plants. If one of these organisms enters to the wildlife, it will destroy biodiversity or even destroy it. Moreover, it is possible to use genetic engineering in order to clone humans. Many countries, which have advanced level of science and laboratories, can declare a war using genetically modified organisms and humans in any moment and threat to life on the world. Therefore, DNA fingerprinting can be menacing for humanity.

On the other hand, genetic engineering is vital in food industry. It was proved by scientists that genetically modified products can persist for a long period. For instance, the expiration date of GM apple in the refrigerator is 3 months while natural apple lasts for only 2 weeks. In addition, genetic engineering is the solution of many diseases in medicine. By taking genetic code, modern specialists can artificially originate new organs like heart, liver and transplant it to human’s organism. This will solve diseases such as cancer, renal failure and others. Hence, genetic engineering develops people’s lives and important nowadays.

In conclusion, even if technology of gene modification harms the environment and may be used in malevolent goals, it is vital in upgrading the level of medicine and food industry.