Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

Today, workers are tending to accept overtime working at the workplace. This essay will clarify the reasons for this trend and the problems associated.

Many workforces have increasing movement in spending over standard working hours for some reasons. To start off, the undeniable fact is that nowadays the mainstream media have played a crucial role in making humans have to work more and more to satisfy their desires. To explain this, plenty of advertisements on multimedia seem to enhance the standard in general, for example, Apple usually launches new generation for iPhone line every year and along with manipulating customers’ behaviour and thinking, which create a sense of scarcity and then they seem to force themselves to spend more time on making more salary as a survival response. Furthermore, the old mindset about which parents are likely to do work as much as possible to accumulate for their descendants in order that the next generation will have a brighter future still exists until now. Besides, if everyone does not work extra hours, they can have to face difficulties relating to finance, because of the fact that the world is undergoing fast-paced growth leading to the surge in the cost of living.

An increase in the time of working perhaps make employees take some adverse effect. Firstly, should humans work overtime for a long time, materialism would be able to embed in their mindset. This is because ,in a money-based society, money seems to be prioritized the most by almost all people, aside from many factors such as the pressure of finance, misfortune, which as a result, make it possible to become an intangible barrier with everyone around and only concern about earning money. Moreover, their health is one of the serious issues about not only physical illness but also psychology. To clarify this, as they nearly have to tackle a lot of things from personal to family or even social troubles repeating every day in their daily life, of course, they will have to suffer real harm to themselves to a certain period.

In conclusion, the modern media and outdated traditions are one of the elements to distribute an increasing trend in working overtime these days. Therefore, what they have was more wealth, but lost was the health.