Globalisation has both advantages and disadvantages.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that globalisation has concurrently benefits and drawbacks. Personally I am both fascinated by the development brought by globalisation and apprehensive about its negative impacts.

On the one hand, the increasing globalisation in many respects brings some obvious advantages. As more companies establish overseas, there have been more employment opportunities created. Therefore, people can have a better job without having to leave their home countries. For instance, many high-tech companies now have their offices in India and many Indian people work for those. Without globalisation, Indians would not have had that chance to work for such companies in India. At the same time, globalisation also opens the door to higher education for many students, especially from underdeveloped and developing countries. It is now easier for people, for example from China or Vietnam, to acquire better schooling in Western countries than in the past.

On the other hand, I share the concerns of people who believe that globalisation is harmful if we are not careful. Firstly, as more companies move their production facilities to other countries with cheaper labour price, they leave behind them many unemployed workers. Besides, the decline in employment growth rate partly results from the promotion of the application of technology in many aspects of manufacturing. It has been seen in the past few years, such advances have led to an increase in unemployment in many developing economies. Finally, while countless multinational companies are expanding their business all over the world, it results in a fact that small-scale industries face extinction. It is clearly understood that small-scale companies which do not have enough resources or power to compete with international companies will soon be removed from the business.

In conclusion, I believe that while globalisation no doubt improves life in certain circumstances, the potential risks of such that tendency should not be ignored.