Tourism is an ever growing business.

What benefits do you think tourism brings to individuals and society?

It is true that tourism has brought a radical change in many respects. Among those, a boost in the local economy and more job opportunities are the most prominent advantages that profit both the locals and society.

For the community, tourism revenues are the direct benefit that comes twofold. Firstly, tourists pour cash directly into local products which range from food to clothing, souvenirs and amusements. This type of direct profit has helped many communities to develop their economy, where other sectors such as industry or agriculture may not be possible. For instance, Phu Quoc island has many large sand dunes which hinder agricultural development. However, owing to beautiful long coasts and coral reefs, it attracts millions of travellers every year, which, in turns, improves the society radically. Secondly, the additional incomes earned from tourists also benefits the local governments. The more money they receive from taxes and public services, the more funds are allowed launching public projects such as roads, parks, airports. Those both draw more attention from tourists as well as enhance lives in the area.

For the inhabitants, the easiest merit of tourism to identify is the jobs it brings. This ranges from directly influenced positions such as tour guide, hotel staff to indirect ones such as employees working in retail and food production. In other words, once the local economy is expanded, it is beneficial for many sectors, which therefore increases the rate of employment. Another opportunity given by the booming tourism industry is more chances for entrepreneurs to establish their own services, products or facilities. For example, knowing that many foreigners want to buy traditional handicrafts of Vietnam, a company named Tiki create an online platform to sell works of fine craftsmen so that travellers can find their favourite souvenirs easily.

In conclusion, a fantastic source of incomes to local economies and employment possibilities for the residents are the most noticeable gains from tourism.