Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The authorities regularly come under fire for investing in projects such as music festivals or art exhibitions and this growing criticism is due to the fact that some feel that money would be better spent on healthcare, education or crime prevention. I agree with this idea to a large extent; however, funding spent in this area can be justified and, therefore, valid arguments for both sides of this issue will be presented in this essay.

There are a number of compelling arguments to support the idea that public services would benefit from money that has been allocated to the arts. The fundamental one is that government around the world face tremendous challenges due to limited resources to tackle most pressing or urgent issues in healthcare sector. For instance, they require an astronomical amount of money allocation not only to fight with life-threatening new or old diseases such as malaria, cancers etc. but also to safeguard public health consistently from malnutrition by spending those in medical infrastructure, employing doctors and nurses, and campaigning to raise public awareness. Admittedly, Education sector is another of great importance where administration needs to take extra-care because educated and intelligent citizens are the asset or back-bone to run public institutions or private corporations in any state. Moreover, it is government’s sacred duty and obligation to ensure safety and freedom of movement of the general public from numerous crimes for example murder, burglary, terrorism etc. for which they must pour handsome amount in preventive measures as well as post-crime investigation and jurisdiction.

Despite this, the counter argument for investment in the arts should also be considered. Principally, advocates argue that sometimes individual needs entertainment and/or amusement for which art department do the best job in order to lead happy life or escape hectic life or revitalize themselves. To ensure enrichment and improvement of this branch govt. could redistribute country’s wealth to allocate certain amount or even subsidize for art related activities, and give a helping hand to promising artists by encouraging and supporting them financially.

In conclusion, in an ideal world, there would be money in abundance for both areas; nevertheless, as this is not the case, and there is a lack of funding in infrastructure, education and healthcare systems, then I have to agree that money being assigned to these areas is of far greater importance than the arts.