Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued by some that in recent times the dependency among individuals has increased than in the past because of stress and anxiety, whereas others believe that individuals rely on themselves due to the recent advancements in the field of technology. But I completely agree with the later viewpoint.

On the one hand, most of the time people have different commitments to fulfill in order to survive in this competitive world leading to stress and anxiety. To cope with these issues, they become increasingly dependent on certain close relatives and friends for moral support. For instance, before a recent interview at Google, one of my friends was extremely stressed and was busy in preparing all possible questions the company could ask. During this phase, his parents supported him by not only placing their trust in his abilities but also by preparing food and snacks every day.

On the other hand, some people, including me, believe that with the technological advancements people are becoming more self-reliant. Since technology offers solutions to most issues, people accomplish most of their tasks without the help of others. An individual can find the route to an unknown place with the help of Google Maps and this has eliminated the need to ask strangers for the route. Similarly, students these days use online libraries to find research papers and journals and they do not need a librarian or supervisor to help them. This has drastically reduced the dependence of librarians or even teachers.

In conclusion, while some believe that in modern times, people tend to depend more on others since they lead a stressful life, I think people are self-reliant these days because of the innovative solutions offered by technology.