The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease the violent crimes in society. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

People believe that the violence in films and on television should be reduced in terms of decreasing the violent crimes in society. I would argue that controlling violence on media may not be the best method to solve the issues.

The rate of violent crime cannot be reduced by limiting the frequency of violence on media, because it is not the only way that people can receive the negative influence. Some people, such as children, are more easily impacted by school bullying and domestic violence, which makes younger generations believe that many problems can be solved by violence. Therefore, the risk of becoming violent criminals are higher without preventing these areas’ impact.

Compared to the films and TVs’ violence, some social problems are the main reasons to violent crimes. For example, education problems caused by unbalanced social resource distribution make people from poor families do not know the punishment of breaking laws. In addition, if they cannot improve their living standard by securing a better job, this hopeless life will make them desperate and become impulsive even anti-social, which makes them tend to solve problems by violence.

That is not to say that reducing violence on media do not have any positive effects on limiting violent crimes. Some films and serials establish abnormal value to audience, which is that the actors can escape the punishment from laws by some excellent skills to cover their law-breaking behaviors. As a result, people especially teenagers feel that they can benefit from these superb measures and do not need to pay for their violent behavior. therefore, limiting them also have advantages to reducing violence in real world.

In sum, the restriction of violence on media may be part of the effort to prevent violent crimes, but it is not the most efficient one.