In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

The purpose of urban design is to make citizens enjoy the city and want to live there, therefore an increasing number of planners prefer to arrange cities by modularization management mode. I personal believe that this mode is unreasonable although it has the advantages.

The reason for opposing this trend may involve the recognition that cities designed in this mode is rather restricted in terms of its transportation to core function district in the peak time, such as driving to work. When all the citizens trying to get into the working district at the same time, it must cause serious traffic congestion, which means commuters need spend more time on the way to office. As a result, they tend to be unhappy and upset and even some of them would blame the administrators or move out of the cities.

Opponents of centralized management approach believe that people living in the communities with well-distributed supporting buildings, mean that it can fulfill with their basic needs in single area, which is more convenient and higher efficient. By contrast, in those cities which have separated the buildings from each other, if people are trying to eat outside when doing sports with friends, they had to commute to commercial district and then back to sport area, which is time-consuming.

However, the obvious argument in favor of modularization management is that city will be well-organized and the specific area can solve problems at a time. For instance, if companies or individuals are trying to purchase something they need, the area could provide one-stop service because all the commerce of the city are concentrated in this district.

Overall, there are plenty of issues for centralized management method, although it may have positive side to the cities and citizens.