The best way to reduce the time to travel to work is to turn public areas such as parks in cities centers into houses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For decreasing the travelling time from home to work, some people fell the most significant way is to transfer the public facilities in the city centers into houses. I admit the method mentioned above could probably solve the problem in some extent, but it is not the most efficiency way.

It is obvious that more investment to the infrastructure such as metro to improve the transportation efficiency is a great method to reduce the travelling time. The main reason for people from home to work is the traffic jam, therefore, the solution to reduce the travelling time is to establish more convenient public transportation system. For example, subway could shift the numerous individuals in unit time without traffic congestion.

Trying to balance the economic development of the city is another better way to solve the problem. The reason why people take so much travelling time from home to workplace is that they are not easy to find a job near their home. Therefore, the job opportunities average distributed city could decrease commuting time effectively.

That is not to say building more houses to replace public areas could not shortcut the commuting time. Otherwise, more office workers could live close to their companies and the travelling time must be less than before. However, the land in the city center is limitation and the living cost and renting would be higher than rural area. As a result, most people still choose to live outside of the city center for better living conditions.

In sum, replacing the public areas to houses is a method to reduce the commuting time but not the best.