The government should spend money to encourage sports and arts in school children, rather than on professional sports and art performance for the general public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, most countries have shown great concern about the development of sport and art. Controversy exists as to whether the government should pay money to encourage subjects related to sport and art at school instead of the professional performances for the public. From my point of view, I am utterly convinced that sport and art for students should be invested in more.

To begin with, the most frequent explanation to support this view is that sport at school has a positive impact on the cognitive skills of children such as: concentration and attention. This is shown by the following example. According to the information from the Healthline website, studies conducted over the past 40 years suggest that exercises in the classroom may help students stay on task and have a better attention span. Therefore, it is obvious that sport and art should receive more funds to enhance the development of students.

In addition, another factor contributing to this opinion is that a professional player could earn a large sum of money from their performances. Consequently, they should spend part their income to celebrate the activities or competitions by themselves, rather than expect the government to do that. In fact, according to the statistics about the salary of many football clubs over the world published recently, FC Barcelona earned $12 million after a match. Moreover, they had a record revenue of $959,3 million between 2018 and 2019. For this reason, it is clear that professional players are able to make a huge amount of money. As a consequence of this, they ought to pay for their performances.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that the government should invest more money in motivating sport and art for students at school instead of paying for skilled performances.