Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, the idea that government should spend more taxes on railways instead of on roads has gained in popularity. Although spending on railways has its own advantages, roads ’investment benefit citizens in more aspects.

Transparently, in further future, road fixing sounds more economical than the railway one. First, in order to rebuild or replace railways, it requires high-skilled workers and high-technology machines while the substitutes of roads are more commonly produced and, therefore, less expensive. In reality, railways or trains are not popular means of transport in Vietnam, which means that large spending on them at the expense of on roads is not capable. Second, since railways are located in rural areas, it takes time and labors to fix or upgrade some components. For instance, if the road paths are minor broken, the locals can utilize their households to avoid danger rather than waiting for papers and government’s decisions.

Moreover, roads provide people with more convenience. First, through centuries, as roads are paths for vehicles and commuters while trains serviced only passengers, roads offer citizens with various choices, In particular, people use cars, motorbikes and other means of transport on roads but not on railways. Finally, using roads makes people less reliant on time and schedules. For instance, hurry businessmen can choose taxis; university students can catch daily buses at the rate of money they are willing to pay and receive the equal quality.

In conclusion, the benefits of roads, in term of economical saving and convenience, outweighs those of railways, therefore, more money should be spent on the former. Otherwise, the limited taxes could not cover both targets.