People hold different points of view regarding whether railways or roads should receive an allocation from the governments. I strongly convince that governments should use their expense on enhancing roads due in large part to its benefits in a long run.

First of all, it is understandable why some advocate spending public money on railway systems. Their primary rationale is more modern trains would attract more passengers to try and result in cutting down the overload of road transport. However, the issue of traffic jams could be solved by building exclusively parallel lanes for a vast array of vehicles, arranging kinds of vehicles on the road, just to name a few. Moreover, it is also noticeable that catching train would be inconvenient since it depends much on the fixed time schedule, thus those people in emergencies would hardly commute to their destinations. For example, a pregnant woman needs to give birth immediately at midnight, and getting on a train might be mostly unfeasible.

As regards developing road networks, it would support our issue of travel in many beneficial ways. Nowadays there is a wide range of vehicles, including cars, motorbike, truck, mobile home, etc, which provide us many options to choose. The development of vehicles would also accompany with the demand for high-quality roads and the responsibility of governments is tremendously required. A highway system in good condition would preserve the duration of means of transport and appropriate traffic management facilities such as bridges, the traffic light would mitigate much of serious traffic accidents. That is not to mention the flexibility that a private mode of transport could bring off under any hard circumstances.

In conclusion, I am in favor of supporting the government to invest in expanding the highway system rather than the railway because of the unadmitted merits in analyzed aspects.