Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this question?

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that it is essential to invest in setting up railway networks, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are several advantages to spending money in the construction of railways. Perhaps the principal benefit is that railways are generally more punctual and reliable than other modes of transport. Therefore, establishing new railway lines could facilitate the country-wide transportation of people and goods. To be specific, people with relatives living in different regions could see each other more easily and parcels could be delivered more quickly. Furthermore, there would be a boom in domestic tourism, which would stimulate economic growth in regional areas. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments in favour of consuming money on building trains.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that building railways should take precedence over the construction of roads. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that public transport systems such as buses and subways play a greater role in citizens' everyday life such as when people commute to and from work. This is partly because the majority of employees have a predisposition to drive to work on a daily basis. In addition, an increase in the quality of these reserved for people with high incomes. It is fairer to invest in public transport infrastructure that everyone benefits from. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.