Government should spend more money for the construction in railways rather than in roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree. Give examples and evidences to support your position.

government supposed to funding railroads constructing rather than highways. To some measure, I agree with the idea. However, I also believe that finance road development is also important.

On the one hand, developing railways is economically beneficial as well as safe for the community due to the fact that it could provide low-cost transportation. The train ticket for 100 Kilometers of distance, for example, is cost just about 100.000 Indonesian Rupiah, compares to other modes of transportation expense such as buses or taxis, it just about a half of the ticket price. Furthermore, the traffic accident rarely happens in on the train. As a result, by funding the construction of railroads, the government not only provides low-fare public transportation but also offer safety for the travelers.

On the other hand, the geographical factors are worth to consider in term of development of transportation facilities such as railroads. For the country such as Indonesia, the geographical surface is should be taken into account because of train system could not be used as a public transportation due to it located in mountain areas. Therefore, the development of roads is preferable compares to railways. Moreover, by funding the highways the government could save a large amount of money since the vehicles are not provided by the government but it is afforded by the citizens. As a result, the government could save large amount of money and spending it for the other purpose.

To conclude, I think both railways and highways essential to be funded by the government as long as economic and geographical are taken into consideration.