Artists being subsidized by the governments had earn criticism as some assert that it is a waste of the country’s monetary fund and can be spent to fund important matters. This essay will discuss both views and will give the writer’s opinion in the end.

Various artists such as painters, sculptors and musicians are being funded by the government in order to continue their crafts. This is because they bear the name and pride of the whole nation. For instance, Fernando Amorsolo was one of the Filipino painters known world-wide due to the support given by the previous Marcos regime and is considered a national artist. It promotes and protects the country’s cultural heritage and keeps it alive for the next generation to witness. Moreover, it aids in economic development. As an example, Amorsolo’s artworks create revenues to the government by selling it to the highest bidder in an auction. Also in Dubai, numerous murals, paintings and sculptures are displayed and can be seen in public places such as parks, commercial establishments and public transportation that foretold the Arab’s lifestyle, culture and traditions which gives information to the people and a way of promoting tourism. Even more important, these artists had accomplished their jobs and worked professionally, therefore, it is fair, rightful and just that they will receive compensation for the service that they have rendered.

On the other side of the coin, a certain minority affirm that this financial support is being wasted on arts and should be channelled to other important things like education, health, economic development and more, specifically to those who are in the third world country. For example, in some rural areas, schools and health centres are inaccessible to all, whereas, in some places electrical and water supply are inadequate to suffice the population. Therefore, they needed more support and must be a priority by the local and national government.

After positing the above arguments, the writer believes though it is important to aid the country’s acclaimed artists, it is also vital that the government should address other issues that are necessary for the welfare of the many. They should prioritize, carefully plan and manage the nation’s budget wisely to make sure that the needs of their subjects are met. Also, they can ask for the help of non-government agencies and other private institutions to sponsor some artists and some programs of the government to avoid conflict.

In conclusion, governments helping artists monetarily is inevitable as well as allocating budget for the country’s other needs, so it is a must that they should budget and spend the money well to avoid wastage.