Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

The notion of whether governments should propose individuals to maintain their surrounding environment has become immensely controversial. In my viewpoint, this can be beneficial and unfavourable for the environment.

People are more concern about themselves and their surroundings than anything else. This is a great idea when it comes to this psychological facet. No one can sit still looking at garbage lying in front of their house, or trees cut down in the local park that their children usually play in. Consequently, they are obliged to be more responsible, thus propagating others to conserve a beautiful, vivid atmosphere. Luang Prabang in Laos decided to execute the same procedure and received wonderful results. The town is spotless as there was no trash or filtering in the local street and river. Needless to say, this major advantage helps the government to reduce expenditure on conserving and reconditioning the environment. Moreover, a more effective method could be penalizing individuals that damage or neglect their environment. This is significant since people need to take the obligation to preserve their own surroundings.

However, this action can be counter-productive with irresponsible and unconscious individuals. With people ignoring the environment, it will be heavily damaged and probably destroyed without the interference of the government. A recent survey announced that only 7% percent of people agreed to look after their environment unaccompanied by the government. Imposing a fine will not help in this circumstance because no one can make others suddenly acknowledge and worried about the environment’s state. Additionally, when the government decided to fine irresponsible local residences, the environment has already been critically harmed. The most dangerous part is this is the opportunity for unconscious individuals to freely do what they want without the interference of governments. Trees will be cut down, rivers will be polluted, and the air will be filled with hazardous gasses.

In conclusion, although this decision is a growing trend and has been executed effectively in many countries, it is significant to regard or propagate civilizations first before taking further actions.