Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Environmental protection has been one of the fiercely debated issues over the last few years. Although governments play a directing role in tackling this significant problem, I cast no doubt on the view that people should be held accountable for the environment in their own area.

The primary reason why it is citizens’ responsibility to look after the environment is that it is obligatory that all species who are living on this planet preserve the environment. In other words, it is not some single person or organization's duty to take care of it. Admittedly, the government raises taxes on gas to encourage people to use eco-friendly fuels with a view to reducing air pollution. However, people's gas consumption still increases owing to the fact that it is too difficult for them to change the habit in the short term. What can be inferred from this is that it will never be able to handle everything if the public does not move.

In addition, only when each resident get involved in local environmental preservation, will they realize how seriously the ecosystem is being degraded. In fact, some environmental issues are too big for individuals to deal with. However, small activities such as taking out the trash in the right place or using paper bags instead of plastic bags could help the government prevent damage to the earth.

In conclusion, the safeguarding of the natural environment not only requires the leadership of the government but also the cooperation and participation of individual citizens.