Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that governments should build more railroads rather than highways and roads. To a certain point, I would agree with the statement, but I also believe that the decision of building railways or roads should be decided base on the natural condition of the area and the preference of citizens.

On the one hand, it is understandable if some people think that governments should expand more railroads rather than roads and streets. Firstly, it is obvious that when a country has extensive rail networks, it will positively affect the logistic cost. The selling price of many products would be cheaper since a single locomotive could carry tonnes of crops, goods or liquid products. Secondly, by building integrated subway stations in city centre areas, it will reduce traffic congestion. For example, as Singapore has a very good train network called MRT, most of the people rarely drive on their own vehicle. As a result, Singapore is free from traffic congestion and air pollution.

On the other hand, it is also important for governments to have some feasibility study regarding to the geological area before they disburse some money on railroads. It is a fact that some areas might not be feasible for railways, as those areas might be swamps or rocky mountain. Should the government enforced themselves in building railway networks there the investment cost might be unreasonable. For instance, the island of Borneo in Indonesia, is the one of the largest islands in the world, but most of the areas are swamps. It is not feasible for railroads but as the island have wide and long rivers such as the Mahakam and Kapuas, the government could focus more on building water transportation. The preference of citizens should also be considered before investing on construction on railroads or highways.

In conclusion, to a certain extent, I would agree that governments should build more railroads rather than roads and highways. But I do believe that governments should also make considerable measurement before they spend their money on railways. They must ensure that their areas are feasible and people prefer that transportation system.