Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Countries should focus their attention to develop the railway system but not the roads. This essay will advocate above statement because travelling by train is inexpensive and traffic on the roads could be reduced by maintaining a highly developed railway system.

Using railways is rather inexpensive compared to the other mode of transportation. This means that the same distance which is travelling by train will cost lower than using the bus or someone's own vehicle such as cars. Passengers attraction for train has increased because the money plays a pivotal role in day-to-day life of the era of consumer society. In Sri Lanka, for instance, there would be a ten fold increase in expenditure by car to train travel. Therefore the government has to improve their locomotive in order to reduce the amount of money which is spent by people of the country.

The congestion on roads can be reduced by increased use of train as a method of commute. To elaborate, traffic jam is a huge reason which make the roads less attractive for users. Less traffic on the roads would ultimately benefit the government by allowing them to spend tax payers' precious money on other social infrastructure as well as save the valuable time of road users. A recent study has showed that average Sri Lankan spend four hours per week on roads in Colombo, the capital city, because of the traffic and the condition will be expected to continue to worse in next five years by twenty percent.

In conclusion, regulatory bodies are bound to upgrade their railway system and spend less on roads. Low cost and the reduced traffic congestion are the major reason for this choice.