In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Being overweight or obese and poor health and lack of fitness is a new health hazard in many countries of the world. There are several causes for this phenomenon and some possible measures that can be taken to tackle this burning issue.

Increased average weight may result due to a number of reasons. The first and foremost cause is the poor diet. For instance, an average diet consists of higher caleriec value compared to the past. Fost foods and cola and sugary drinks are the best examples for these. Sedentary life style and lack of physical exercises is the second main reason for being overweight. In fact, people are busy with their shedules and they do not have enough time to exert themselves physically. Even though some have leisure time, they prefer staying indoors watching movies, surfing the internet, chatting with friends online or playing video games. Stress and lack of awareness about the drawbacks of being obese are other minor contributing factors forb this issue.

There are number of measures that can be taken to solve this problem in the future. Public health programmes which are designed to increase the awareness of the people about disadvantages and health problems which occured by being overweight is the solution for this issue. School is the best place to start this process. Education on healthy meal plans, the significance of physical activities and sports and how mental and spiritual wellbeing affect the total health of a person can be given to the children in an appropriate manner. In turn this knowledge would be aquired by parents. For example, if a child is demanding for a healthy diet or physical activity, parents would ultimately adhere to the needs if the child. By this method the goal can be achieved.

In most of the countries there are number of people who are overweight and their health and fitness are decreasing. However, there are numerous reasons for this problem and careful planning and implementation of possible solutions to overcome this issue.